Have you ever wanted to wipe your WordPress site clean and start all over? Though you may not need to reset your WordPress website to its default settings very often, knowing how to do it in the most effective way possible is a useful skill to have.


No matter why you want to reset your WordPress website and start from scratch, one thing is true: manually deleting content or re-installing WordPress over and over again is a huge waste of time.

That’s why today we’re going to look at some of the most common reasons why you might want to reset your WordPress website and how to do it using a simple (and free!) WordPress plugin called Advanced WordPress website.

So, let’s jump right in! 🚀

Sometimes starting over is the best way to start – check out these ways to reset your #WordPress website

Why Reset Your WordPress Website?

Every time you make a change to your site’s design or content, those changes are saved either in your WordPress database or other parts of the file system.

By resetting your site and restoring it to its default settings, you are wiping away every change you’ve ever made and starting all over with a fresh install – so it goes without saying that you should proceed with caution.

Here are some of the most common reasons why you might want to reset your WordPress website:

  • Site Rebuild:  if you want to rebuild or redesign your website, resetting it is the easiest way to erase all the design and content that currently exists and start over.
  • Website Backup: if you’ve ever been locked out of your WordPress website because of an error or security breach, you know how difficult it can be to restore it. The only way to restore your site using a backup is to access your site first. Resetting it and deleting all of its content will allow you to do just that.
  • Testing Environment: one of the most common reasons for resetting your WordPress website multiple times is if you regularly use it as a testing environment for new web design and functionality that will later be used on a live site. Once your tests are over, you can easily reset the site and leave it for the next round of testing.

If you decide to reset your WordPress website, always make sure to have a backup on hand just in case you change your mind. The last thing you want to do is erase everything and then decide you wanted to keep some or all of the content. Because after you’ve clicked ‘reset,’ there’s no going back.

Need help migrating your WordPress website to a new host? Check out these WordPress migration plugins.


Reset WordPress Using The Advanced WordPress Reset Plugin

advanced wordpress reset plugin

Advanced WordPress Reset is a plugin that makes resetting your WordPress database extremely easy. It eliminates your need to manually erase content and design and helps you avoid having to re-install WordPress every time you need to start your site over.

Here are some of Advanced WordPress Reset’s main features:

  • Create a new WordPress install without having to deal with the traditional installation process
  • Reset the database without deleting or modifying files, including WordPress plugins and themes
  • Delete all WordPress plugin and theme customizations and settings
  • Wipe away all content such as posts, pages, and comments
  • Detect the Admin user and recreate it with its saved password
  • Maintain the blog name

Keep in mind, this plugin does not support Multisite installations.

Now let’s see how to reset your WordPress website.


Step 1: Install the Advanced WordPress Reset Plugin

The first thing you’ll need to do is install and activate the Advanced WordPress Reset plugin on your website.

You can do this by going to Plugins > Add New in your WordPress dashboard and searching for ‘Advanced WordPress Reset.’

install and activate advanced wordpress reset

Click Install Now and then Activate the plugin as you typically would with other plugins.


Step 2: Reset Your WordPress Website

Next, go to Tools > Advanced WP Reset in your WordPress dashboard.

advanced wordpress reset settings

When you do, you’ll see the main screen where you can reset the database.

advanced wordpress reset screen

Notice the warnings and information:

  • Warning: resetting your WordPress website means losing all database data and receiving a fresh WordPress install. You will lose all posts and pages.
  • Information: your plugin and theme files will not be deleted or modified, but they will be deactivated. You’ll need to manually activate all plugins and themes you want to use on your site after the reset. The current Admin user will be recreated with the current password. You will be redirected to the login page after the reset completes.

To reset your website, type the word ‘reset’ into the confirmation field and then click Reset database.

reset your wordpress website

Once the reset has completed, you’ll be prompted to sign into the WordPress dashboard again.

wordpress login page after website reset

The email on file with your WordPress website will also receive an alert that your WordPress website has been reset. You can log into the dashboard by following the link provided if you prefer.


Step 3: Check Out Your Clean WordPress Install

After logging into your freshly reset WordPress website, check it out to see that everything has been wiped clean. Start by clicking on Posts in the WordPress dashboard.

new wordpress installation

Notice all posts that were previously published on your website have been deleted. The website has gone back to the original WordPress “Hello World” post, complete with a sample comment.  

The same can be said about the Pages section of your new WordPress installation.

new install pages screen

The only page that remains after a site reset is the Sample Page.

Lastly, you’ll notice that any plugins you previously had on your website before resetting it are still there, they just need to be reactivated.

plugin deactivation

Summary: Resetting WordPress

And there you have it! The easiest way to reset your WordPress website using the free Advanced WordPress Reset plugin.

No matter why you want to reset your WordPress website to its default settings, know that there is an easy way to do it that saves you the time and stress of having to manually erase data or re-install WordPress every single time. Just remember, be absolutely sure you want to delete your site and start over, and always have a backup of your site just in case.

Have you ever reset your WordPress website using Advanced WordPress Reset? We’d love to hear all about it in the comments below!